Down the TBR Hole #11

Down The TBR Hole is a meme created by lost in a story that revolves around cleansing your TBR of all those books you’re never going to read and sort through it all to know what’s actually on there.

The rules:

  • Go to your Goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 (or even more!) if you’re feeling adventurous) books. Of course, if you do this weekly, you start where you left off the last time.
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?

Picking up from where I left off:

1. Brave Story – Miyuki Miyabe, Translated by Alexander O. Smith

Book cover of "Brave Story" by Miyuki Miyabe

This is a boyhood adventure story and I’m not at all sure why I put it on my TBR. It sounds interesting enough, but there are dozens of stories like it: boy goes on a quest, has to collect certain gemstones, trouble ensues along the way. This story doesn’t seem to stand out to me in any particular way, but I guess when I looked at it one time I thought it sounded cool, put it on my list, then proceeded to not read it. I guess I should keep with the trend then.

Verdict: GO


2. Pump Six and Other Stories – Paolo Bacigalupi

Book cover of "Pump Six and Other Stories" by Paolo Bacigalupi

I feel like I don’t talk about Paolo BAcigalupi enough on this blog – he’s one of my favorite YA authors! I’ve read several of his novels, including one of his adult novels and they’re really good! He often deals with climate change and environmentalism and technology in his stories, which I love. This is a short story collection, and I do still want to read it. I think he’s an incredible writer and I am curious to see how he does in the short story format. Short stories can be hit and miss for me.

Verdict: KEEP


3. The River of No Return – Bee Ridgway

"The River of No Return" by Bee Ridgway

This sounds really cool! Time travel! 18oos! And some romance! This story sounds exactly like something I’d pick up to read, so I’m not surprised it’s on my TBR. I am definitely intrigued by the premise and I have a friend who rated it high and we mesh for the most part in terms of book preferences. So I think I’ll give this one a chance, still, especially since time travel is such an interesting topic to me. I’m always curious to see how people use it.

Verdict: KEEP


4. Death Cloud – Andrew Lane

Book cover of "Death Cloud" by Andrew Lane

I have always been interested in Sherlock Holmes and the many adaptations he has inspired. He’s such an interesting figure and it’s always a challenge, I feel, to adapt him adequately. This book series is depicts a young Sherlock Holmes. Judging from the average review ratings, this book is at most a lukewarm adaptation. I don’t know if it’s still worth my time. When I put it on my list, I was a lot younger. I don’t know if I’ve outgrown it or not, but I don’t feel strongly enough to keep it.

Verdict: GO


5. The Castle Corona – Sharon Creech

Book cover of "The Castle Corona" by Sharon Creech

Sharon Creech’s stab at writing a fairytale. This seems like it could be a really cute story. The paths of royalty and peasants cross and the end result is probably something magical. It seems like it’s probably a really simple read and that can be a good thing! I am a pretty big fan of Sharon Creech. I’ve loved many of her books, especially Chasing Redbird and Walk Two Moons. I’m on the fence about this one, though.

Verdict: GO


6. Runemarks – Joanne Harris

Book cover of "Runemarks" by Joanne Harris

So, a satire on Norse mythology! Sounds curious enough. I just don’t know if I’m as interested as I clearly used to be in this book, to put it on my TBR. A girl who has a runemark lets her know that magic and magical creatures are still very much a thing, even though they’ve supposedly been vanquished. It’s a series and I sense it’s an adventure type story. But my interest in Norse mythology isn’t strong enough, I think, to carry my interest in this book any further. Maybe I’ll come back to it some other day.

Verdict: GO


7. Adverbs – Daniel Handler

Book cover of "Adverbs" Daniel Handler

So this is going to sound weird but…I don’t like Handler’s adult novels. If you’re not aware, Daniel Handler is also Lemony Snicket, which is the pen name he uses when writing children’s lit. I love, love, love his A Series of Unfortunate Events, but I’ve read one of his adult novels and tried to start reading this one and…it just doesn’t jive with me. His plots are so twisted and the characters are just too weird. It fits perfectly in his children’s lit for some reason, though. So, I’m going to drop this one once and for all.

Verdict: GO


8. Gideon the Cutpurse – Linda Buckley-Archer

Book cover of "Gideon the Cutpurse" by Linda Buckley-Archer

Another time-travel book! But this time, middle-grade lit. This book sounds like it’s a mystery/adventure story. It could be interesting! I’m intrigued by it and I have never read anything by this author before. The rating seems to be decent. Kids falling though time and their time machine getting stolen is definitely a plot device I’ve seen before. My worry is that this book will be a little cliched. However, I think I’m still interested enough to give it a look. It’s one of those books where it sounds interesting enough that I’d like to read a few chapters, just to make sure before fully committing.

Verdict: KEEP


9. The Bone Season – Samantha Shannon

Book cover of "The Bone Season" Samantha Shannon

Well, I already own this book, so I kind of feel obligated to read it. The funny thing is, it was purportedly supposed to be the next Harry Potter. I’ve heard many people deny this emphatically and say that the marketing was way off for this book. Still, I’ve also know people who have liked it. I tend to want to read polarizing books, simply because I want to know where I fall when it comes right down to it, and so I can judge it accurately. Such is the way with this book. If you’ve read it, let me know what you thought in the comments. I’d be interested to know other people’s opinions.

Verdict: KEEP


10. In the After – Dimitria Lunetta

Book cover of "In the After" by Dimitria Lunetta

This book is marketed as “perfect for fans of The 5th Wave” and I really did like that book series. It’s essentially a post-apocalyptic dystopian about a young woman and the toddler she rescues. It sounds like it could be really action-packed and cool! Goodness knows, I love a good survival story. However, I don’t know when I’ll be in the mood to pick this one up. I also have a feeling it might be difficult to get my hands on it, since it seems like a) a small publication and b) it was published in 2013, which was a while ago. Still, I won’t rule out eventually reading it.

Verdict: GO


Results:

Kept: 4

Discarded: 6

This felt like a rather eclectic bunch of books! I’m not surprised that my results were nearly 50/50. I was definitely on the fence about a few of them and maybe if any of you are persuasive in the comments, I might change my mind again! Who knows. But another week down, more books to go!

Thoughts?

So, what do you think? Any books I cut that you wouldn’t? Any books that I’m keeping that aren’t worth my time? Let me know! I’d love to hear from you. See you next week for another meme post.

3 thoughts on “Down the TBR Hole #11

    1. Good to know! I was leaning towards keeping it, especially since I bought it on a whim a long time ago and still own the book. I like reading books that I physically own, because why else should I have this book in my house, lol! I hope I like it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s